Home > College, Jobs, Literature, Musings, Writing > Writing in Scenes

Writing in Scenes

The past couple months, I have tried different writing techniques that I have never used before. I never used them because I was hopelessly stuck on doing the same thing. I’m a Taurus and I am as stubborn as they come, but I do know when to put the bull horns away. And after years of failed attempts at writing stories and novels, I wanted to do something different. How much worse could it really be?

So, as you all know, I graduated. Maybe it was something about graduating that opened me up  to trying something else. Or maybe it was the fact that I finally had time to write again and I did not want to screw it up. Either way, I changed some of my approaches to writing.

I started by thinking more about the elements of my story. Characters, relationships, plot points and their relationships, etc. But, I did not stop there. No, I moved forward and tried just writing a story instead of focusing so much on what the outcome would be.

Before this summer, I worried too much about the ultimate outcome of my story. I would become so set on an ending and I would not diverge from that ending. Obviously, this can cause some creative issues for anyone writing a story. In fiction writing classes, I would scoff at any idea that would create serious issues with how I wanted the story to end. But, because of that, I missed out on some good suggestions.

So, after just writing my story down, I was supremely happy to find that the method succeeded for me. After having my brother and a friend read my story, and hearing their suggestions to lengthen, and not shorten, the story, I became more than a little stumped. Would just writing the way I had add anything to my story? Or would I need a new method?

I thought about it long and hard. My story sat for a good while before I touched it again. But, an idea came to mind. I have the bones and just writing like I had might not get the job done. What I decided for myself was to write in scenes.

I looked at my story and wrote down what I believed needed expansion. Now, I have been writing in mini scenes. I write little parts of the story that I know can easily integrate into the body that I already have. Is this what revision feels like? I’m not sure because I have never truly revised anything. I’m a write it and hand it in type of person.

That has never worked for my fiction writing, and I cannot believe it has taken me this long to get that figured out (and hopefully straightened out).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

