Home > Book Thoughts, College, Literature, Musings, Writing > Where Are All the Book Clubs?

Where Are All the Book Clubs?

I miss talking about literature in class, with my friends, and with my professors. I expressed this to my boyfriend and he suggested joining a book club.

At first, I scoffed. Book clubs are for housewives who want to gossip and read poorly written and poorly thought out novels. This, of course, is an unfair judgement to make.

So, I looked for some book clubs in my area and (not surprisingly) there are not that many. Really, we barely have any book stores around here, so people reading books is stretching it at best. And certainly few are reading books that I want to talk about: sci fi classics, Russian classics, modern sci fi, German classics, short stories, etc.

I looked around the web, briefly, hoping for something to stick out to me.

Nothing.

So, where are all the book clubs? Do they exist? And would they help give me some of the intellectual contact I want?

  1. December 15, 2012 at 7:42 PM

    I’ve had the same problem in my area. Luckily, there’s still an independent bookstore around where I can go meet book people. If you can find an indie bookstore, I’d recommend checking it out for book clubs/socials.

  2. ALittleBirdie
    January 6, 2013 at 5:29 AM

    College campuses are good for stumbling upon book clubs too. But why not form one with your own group of friends?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

