Home > Musings, Writing > In the “Under Review” Queue

In the “Under Review” Queue

I’ve mentioned in a couple of previous posts that I had been working on a story, a story that I submitted 7-8 weeks ago to a science fiction magazine (am I allowed to say the name without completely jinxing myself? I will probably jinx things with this post, so why not? I submitted to Asimov’s).

I aimed high for my first submission with this story. I have only ever thrown around two other stories, both of which were rejected by multiple magazines. Needless to say, they are sitting on the sidelines at the moment (kind of). Anyway, I mentioned in another post that I kept going back and forth between feeling anxious and not feeling anxious.

This particular story felt different to me when I completed it. I actually felt confident about it: a miracle, because I am hardly ever confident about anything I write (including blog posts, essays, to do lists).

Okay, I will stop explaining things. Here’s why I wanted to write this post: my story went into “under review” a week ago. This is a first for me in that, the other two times with Asimov’s, my story moved from “under review” to “closed” in a day…also known as rejected. I don’t like reading into things, even though I am an over-thinker, but I won’t lie…the first couple days that my story was under review, I was wondering, “What could this mean?”

I’m less concerned now. At least, that’s what I tell myself. I am trying to ride this wave and not think too much about “what it means”, but think more about when I might hear something about the story (rejection or otherwise).

Do I think it will be rejected? I don’t know. Do I think it will be accepted? I don’t know.

I honestly have no idea what to think about it. All I know is that I feel confident about the story, I feel confident about the prose and the plot, and I feel confident that it can find a home somewhere.

Here’s to continued inspiration and continued writing no matter the outcome!

  1. whisperingleavesblog
    October 3, 2012 at 3:21 AM

    I suppose every writer must feel and think like you… Your last sentence says a lot. With that kind of attitude you will succeed, hopefully with this story. Waiting to hear that you got an acceptance. 🌼

    • October 3, 2012 at 5:45 PM

      It actually got rejected this morning, but I have promptly turned around and submitted it elsewhere. 🙂

  1. October 20, 2012 at 5:41 PM

Leave a Reply

