Home > Book Thoughts, College, Literature, Musings, Writing > A Continuing Education Compromise

A Continuing Education Compromise

When I graduated in May, I assumed I was about to be away from school for at least a year. In fact, I talked about my 1+ year plan extensively with my professors pre-graduation. Most of them supported the idea, telling me a break would be good for me, especially since I was in a major that didn’t need immediate continuation (I wouldn’t lose science knowledge or math skills with time off).

However, about two weeks after graduation, I realized I would miss school and class and learning far too much to just walk away. I started to think about grad school, as many of you know. In fact, I have applied for grad school (just waiting on one transcript and two letters of recommendation…plus the GREs). My thought process behind grad school is not the same thought process I had pre-graduation.

Before I graduated, I thought I would take a year to get the feel of the working world, then plunge myself into school fully once more. Now, I don’t like that idea. I like the idea of class, yes, but I don’t like the idea of school being my life once more. Instead, part-time grad school is more agreeable. However, I really couldn’t wait until spring to learn something new and to be stimulated. Thus, through my local continuing education program through the board of education, I am taking a seven week Russian I course.

It’s great so far (I have only had one class, though). It seems like the continuing education courses tend to be attended by older people, which makes me feel like an odd ball. I convinced my friend to join me though, so we are the only “under 50” members of the class, except for the teacher, who is a younger Russian woman (accent and all)!

I like the class because there is no pressure of a grade (which makes me more comfortable trying to actually pronounce things–an issue in high school). The teacher seemed impressed that I wanted to learn Russian because of my interest in Russian literature. “Have you read The Idiot yet?” she asked me. “No, but I am reading The Brothers Karamazov at the moment. I like Dostoevsky. Did I say that right?” “Dostoevsky, yes, that’s correct.”

For fun, she wrote our names in the Russian alphabet. Since there is no “H” in Russian, and no “Samantha” in Russian, the best she could come up with was “Samanta.” I’m fond of it.

I’m hoping this little education compromise for these seven weeks will blossom into a strong interest in the Russian language. Maybe I will be able to start reading some basic Russian sentences.

Here’s to a stimulated mind!

Again, more to come. I have so much to update after being away from my blog for far too long.

  1. October 2, 2012 at 10:07 PM

    “Crime and Punishment” is the only Dostoevsky novel I’ve read, but I enjoyed it immensely and I have “The Brother’s Karamazov” on my reading list. 🙂

    • October 3, 2012 at 10:29 AM

      Definitely read it. I’m not done with it yet, but I think I like it more than “Crime and Punishment”, which I enjoyed plenty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

