Home > College, Jobs, Musings, Writing > From No Training to Plenty of Training

From No Training to Plenty of Training

I’ve been off my blog for a little bit. As I said in my previous post, it’s been a hectic time with my new job, going on vacation to Maine, getting my graduate application out the door, and preparing myself for my GREs in two months.

Anyway, after leaving my law office job a month ago, I was somewhat worried that I had made a mistake since I was leaving a nice salary for a recent college graduate. Two weeks ago, I started at a much larger company which deals with medical billing. It’s a large building: 200+ people (MUCH larger than the 10 employee place I was before). For my first week at the office, I shadowed people on my specific team (about 10 people itself). Last week, as well as this week, I have been in a training class.

This is CRAZY to me because my law office job (an important job in itself) trained me to do NOTHING. I was not trained. I almost forgot you could be trained by an employer…I mean, even the retail jobs I worked didn’t train train me in much more than taking care of customers and using the register. But now, I am being trained. At points, it has seemed slightly redundant, but I am happy to feel like I am actually learning something. I like knowing that the company actually wants me to understand my job and understand how to do it properly.

So, yes, I know this job isn’t the job I want for the rest of my life. However, it is A job that is actually training me to do something meaningful and which will keep me stable for the time being…especially since I am hoping to be accepted to graduate school for the spring (part-time of course).

I think the co-worker dynamic will be interesting to settle into since the office is so large and I will be working very closely with my team (whereas I didn’t work closely with anyone at the law office). I’m an independent worker. The job I will be doing is mostly independent, but I have to coordinate with my team since we focus on a specific area. It’s interesting enough that I will likely stick around for more than two months.

Here’s to yet another post-grad beginning.

  1. whisperingleavesblog
    September 26, 2012 at 3:34 AM

    Good luck with the new job. I hope you find plenty to fuel your creative imagination and meet and make friends and friendships which will last a lifetime

    • September 26, 2012 at 12:28 PM

      Thank you! I’m hoping, at the very least, to find myself with a little more free time with my schedule. Maybe that will translate into more writing. =)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

