Home > College, Jobs, Musings, Writing > Leaving on Good Terms

Leaving on Good Terms

I wrapped up my first real job on Friday (August 31). Although I wanted out as soon as possible, I tried my best to be as involved as I could with any work they put in front of me, which, oddly enough, seemed like much more than they were giving me before. But, I have no regrets. Sometimes you know when something isn’t for you and it was apparent almost immediately that I wouldn’t be able to keep my sanity working there. However, most important for any recent grad considering leaving a job in this economy is to make sure something else is lined up, so I will start working in a week at another company. This time, I won’t be answering phones and doing receptionist work. Instead, I will be looking at medical bills and figuring out why a client’s insurance won’t pay the bill. It’s not exactly what I want to be doing the rest of my life, but I think it will be more of an opportunity than the law office was. Especially since this job will likely contribute to my professional growth.

I left the law office on the best possible note that I could: with my co-workers wishing me luck and telling me to stay in touch and two lawyers telling me to give them a call if I ever need a reference. Remember how the newer receptionist got the assistant job? Well, she asked to not be the assistant about a week after being given the job. The lawyer who she would have been assisting told me that she’s sorry she didn’t ask me, but the main lawyer told her that I had a lot going on already (if staring at the phone is a lot, I’m afraid to see what a slow time there would be like). However, she was nice enough to say that everything I had done for her was exceptional and she expects me to be able to work my way into something I like. Similar to most of my other co-workers’ reactions, she said, “You are exceptionally smart and talented, so I have no doubt you will be able to do whatever you want.”

At the very least, I am leaving my first real job after a little over nine weeks on a professional, dignified note. I didn’t burn any bridges and I made some good connections. On to the next thing! After all, I have to save up for grad school in the spring. I want to go part-time. The courses are at night, which would allow me to work full-time and commute for a class once a week. It will be difficult, but I have enough in me to be able to do it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

