Home > College, Jobs, Musings > It’s Not You…Well, Maybe It Is

It’s Not You…Well, Maybe It Is

For the past couple weeks, I have been struggling with my dissatisfaction with my “real” job. I keep telling myself that I should be grateful to have a job so soon after graduation (which I really am grateful for), but feeling grateful isn’t helping the unhappy feeling in my stomach when I sit in the office and consider what I do all day.

My problem isn’t who I work with and it’s not even the place in general. It’s a nice office with nice people. My problem is that I am underwhelmed. Very underwhelmed. I feel like a robot–there is little thought process required for most of the things I do. Most everything I do is templated in documents or listed in steps. There’s no thinking for yourself. And that’s a huge problem for me. It’s one of the main reasons I disliked retail: I was never required to really think.

When I was an intern at a Congressman’s office, I was given more tasks that required thinking and synthesizing information than my current job and I wasn’t even paid to do it.

So, what I have been struggling with is whether or not I am not giving enough time to this job before evaluating it. It’s sort of like a relationship: I don’t know how long to give the other person before I decide I am too unhappy to go on. Obviously, I am not going to just walk away without a backup plan….

If I were to find another place to go, I likely wouldn’t be making the same salary… I would probably make less, but if that job had the possibility of having more stimulation for my mind, would it be the right decision to take that leap?

What is the problem here? Is it really the job? Is it me? Maybe I have too high of expectations for a job?

I’m not sure. I’m very lost because I am grateful to have the job that I have, and yet I am unhappy with the experience I am having there.

The real question is: Does the job I want (a job where you have to think) even exist in this economy?

  1. August 7, 2012 at 8:46 PM

    Good questions–I often have the same ones.

  2. alison2012internship
    August 14, 2012 at 9:46 PM

    I think so. I hope to some day have a career where I can utilize my creative mind. But I know that I have to start some where, and that may mean working for sometime at a job I do not enjoy. Perhaps right now just ask yourself, ‘am I getting the experience that I need to get where I want to go?’

    • August 15, 2012 at 7:01 AM

      Thanks for commenting! I’ve thought about the same question you asked. The issue is: I’m not learning anything at this job, much less anything that would help me get where I want. The other issue is that at this point, I’m not sure many jobs (at least ones I can get) would help me get where I want, so now I’m just concerned about actually getting an experience instead of sitting around untrained. Difficult decisions…

  1. August 25, 2012 at 9:39 AM

Leave a Reply

