Home > Book Thoughts, College, Jobs, Literature, Musings, Writing > “Wait” and “Hope”

“Wait” and “Hope”

From: Barnesandnoble.com

I spent yesterday reading most of the day away (a proper way to spend father’s day since my father helped foster my love of writing). As such, I finished reading the unabridged version on The Count of Monte Cristo, Penguin edition, translated by Robin Buss. The book is large and slightly unwieldy, but, it turns out that Penguin recently released an eBook version. B&N has both. As does Amazon, if you have a Kindle instead (eBook version is cheaper through Amazon).

The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my favorite novels, and I thoroughly enjoyed rereading it (especially unabridged)! Now, I am not normally a fan of a novel that forces a moral on you or forces a meaning. Usually, the best morals and lessons in a book appear when you dig deeper into a text (at least, in my experience). However, something the Count says (he says many interesting things) is good wisdom, I think, and it is relevant to how my summer has been going thus far. He says:

“all human wisdom is contained in these two words: ‘wait’ and ‘hope’!”

I have applied to many jobs this summer and I am waiting, hoping, to hear from one soon. Some jobs I applied to with a great leap of faith, hoping I will get them even though I don’t fully qualify for them. I know that I am more than able to do the jobs I am applying for and I am sure that one will come my way soon. In the meantime, I am waiting and hoping while I read, search for jobs, write, and see friends.

Wait and hope: both words seem relevant to many moments in life (although, surely, there are times when we must leap and no longer sit aside and wait for chance). However, right now, those two words have much meaning for me as a recent college grad. Thus, I will take the count’s advice. Who says you can’t learn about life through words?

Now that I am done with The Count of Monte Cristo, the rest of my summer will likely be devoted to reading the best Russian novels and the best science fiction novels. I started reading the best science fiction novels months ago. NPR has a list, but I have been using this as a sort of tentative list. I have read only eight thus far. I am going to use Goodreads for my Russian literature list. I will begin with Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, translated by Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky. This, like The Count of Monte Cristo, is a Penguin Classics edition.

From: Barnes and Noble

What better way to spend my free time as a recent English undergrad than reading good literature? I didn’t read enough Tolstoy in college, so I am turning my post-graduation days into more learning. For now, I will wait and hope until a job comes skidding around the corner.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

